Gallipoli Cemeteries etiketine sahip kayıtlar gösteriliyor. Tüm kayıtları göster
Gallipoli Cemeteries etiketine sahip kayıtlar gösteriliyor. Tüm kayıtları göster

Gallipoli French Cemetery

Gallipoli French Cemetery; At Morto Bay is the French National Cemetery and Memorial, with 3236 graves and four ossuaries containing the bones of 12 000 unidentifiable soldiers.

Gallipoli French Cemetery


It surprises Australians to learn that more French soldiers were killed at Gallipoli than Australians. At Morto Bay is the French National Cemetery and Memorial, with 3236 graves and four ossuaries containing the bones of 12 000 unidentifiable soldiers. Memorial plaques recall the loss at the Dardanelles of French sailors from warships like the Bouvet. The French component of the Allied force at Gallipoli was known as the Corps Expéditionnaire d’Orient, made up of French and French colonial African troops. The Corps was responsible for a section of the right of the Allied line at Kereves Dere (Kereviz Dere), a deep gully about a kilometre north of the Turkish memorial (Çanakkale Martyrs Memorial).

At Kereves Dere the French struggled in a number of attempted advances to take the Turkish positions and so allow the whole Allied line to push towards Achi Baba. So fierce was the fighting, and so heavy were French losses, that they called this the ‘Ravin de la Mort’, the Ravine of Death. Here French soldiers, men of France, Algeria and Senegal, battled for Turkish positions like Haricot (Bean) Redoubt and Le Rognon (The Kidney). Such homely names belied the French and Turkish blood that flowed for these forgotten battlefield locations. A French medical officer, Dr Subin, wrote of this area: ‘Wounded everywhere! The killed lay in confused heaps which increased as you advanced … the bodies had swollen and their uniforms were tight and narrow. It was awful!’

During the campaign, Morto Bay was well behind the lines but open to Turkish shelling from Kum Kale across the Straits. Here Dr Subin had a dressing station under a cliff, probably not far from where the Turkish memorial is today. On 8 May 1915, the day the Australians attacked at the Second Battle of Krithia, the French also tried to advance. Dr Subin described the casualties: ‘We laid the poor fellows in rows … groans were piteous to hear … bandages soaked in blood, clothes torn to ribbons … ever more wounded arriving’. Subin’s words seem appropriate for Morto Bay, literally ‘Death Bay’.

The sacrifice of French troops in the Gallipoli battles is often unappreciated and forgotten. There were about 27,000 killed, nearly three times the number of Anzac dead (at less than 10,000, of the British Empire total of about 115,000 killed). The French made a successful feint landing at Kum Kale on the Turkish Asian coast on 25th April, 1915, but they started landing on V Beach in the evening of the 26th and took over the right of the Allied line. The French advanced up the eastern side of the Gallipoli peninsula (on the Dardanelles coast).
The French dead were buried in half-a-dozen cemeteries, but following the 1923 Treaty of Lausanne these were concentrated into a single large cemetery at Morto Bay (although a few bodies were then taken back to France).

The French National Cemetery and Memorial, Gallipoli contains 2,240 identified burials, with details (including place of original burial) listed in the superintendent's cottage just inside the gate on the left. On the right is the small Kilitbahir Ossuary, which contains the remains of 22 soldiers and sailors. The impressive (15 metre high) lantern tower Memorial is itself an ossuary, with four more sarcophagus-shaped mass graves around it, containing altogether the remains of about 15,000 French dead (many of them Colonial troops). The memorial wall contains plaques from original cemeteries, regimental and naval plaques.

Canterbury Cemetery

Gallipoli WW1 Canterbury Anzac Cemetery;  (27 burials) was so named from the fact that the majority of the burials in it are of men of the Canterbury Mounted Rifles.

Canterbury Anzac Cemetery


Location of Canterbury


The Anzac and Suvla cemeteries are first signposted from the left hand junction of the Eceabat- Bigali road. From this junction travel into the main Anzac area.

After 11.6kms. the cemetery will be found on your right.

Information of Canterbury


Canterbury Cemetery is one of the central cemeteries in Anzac and was made after the Armistice. It contains the graves of 27 Commonwealth Servicemen of the First World War, five of them unidentified. 20 of the graves are of men of the New Zealand Mounted Rifles (mostly the Canterbury Mounted Rifles).

Green Hill Cemetery

Gallipoli Green Hill WW1 Cemetery;  (2971 burials) is named after a hill which rises from the east bank of the Salt Lake which was captured by the 6th Lincolns and 6th Borders on the evening of 7 August. Unsuccessful efforts were made to advance beyond Green Hill, culminating on 21 August in the Battle of Scimitar Hill, but the front line remained there until the evacuation.

Green Hill Cemetery


Location of Green Hill


Heading North from Anzac, you will encounter the cemetery after 17.6 kms. on the right, adjacent to the track. Green Hill and Chocolate Hill (which form together Yilghin Burnu) are adjoining eminences, about 52 metres above sea level, which rise almost from the eastern shore of the Salt Lake. The cemetery lies on the east side of the Anzac-Suvla Road.

Visiting to Green Hill


The Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time.

History of Green Hill Cemetery


Green Hill and Chocolate Hill (which form together Yilghin Burnu), rise from the eastern shore of the salt lake. They were captured on 7 August 1915 by the 6th Lincolns and the 6th Border Regiment but once taken, no further advance was then made. On the two following days, unsuccessful efforts were made to push on along the ridge of ‘W’ Hill (Ismail Oglu Tepe), leading to Anafarta Sagir and on 21 August, the attack of the 11th and 29th Divisions and the 2nd South Midland Mounted Brigade to take Scimitar Hill, although pressed with great resolution, left the front line where it had been.

Green Hill Cemetery was made after the Armistice when isolated graves were brought in from the battlefields of August 1915 and from small burial grounds in the surrounding area. These earlier burial grounds were known as York; 40th Brigade Nos. 1 and 2; Green Hill Nos. 1 and 2; Chocolate Hill; Inniskilling; Salt Lake; and Scimitar Hill (which contained 520 graves, almost all unidentified).

There are now 2,971 servicemen of the First World War buried or commemorated in this cemetery. 2,472 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate a number of casualties known or believed to be buried among them.

Hill 10 Cemetery

Gallipoli WW1 Hill 10 Cemetery; The cemetery at Hill 10 was constructed after the war by the concentration of graves from a number of British cemeteries in the area, and from isolated graves. Located close to the sea inland from Suvla Bay on the north side of the Salt Lake, north of the Anzac area, Hill 10 is a low isolated mound taken in the early morning of 7 August 1915 by British soldiers. The hill takes its name from its height, just 10 metres above sea level.

Hill 10 Cemetery


Of the 699 burials in this cemetery 549 are identified with the remainder commemorated by Special Memorials. There are only two Australian graves here – that of a Lighthorseman, and a man from the Royal Australian Naval Bridging Train. The Bridging Train was sent to Suvla Bay to construct and run a harbour for British forces fighting in the area after the Suvla landings of 6-7 August 1915.

Location of Hill 10


The Anzac and Suvla cemeteries are first signposted from the left hand junction of the Eceabat- Bigali Road. From this junction travel into the main Anzac area.


Located South West of Azmak and North of the Salt Lake, the cemetery will be found on the left, 21.5 kms from the junction.

Visiting Hill 10


The Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time.

History of Hill 10 Cemetery


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac. On 6 August, further troops were put ashore at Suvla, just north of Anzac, and the climax of the campaign came in early August when simultaneous assaults were launched on all three fronts.

The aim of the Suvla force had been to quickly secure the sparsely held high ground surrounding the bay and salt lake, but confused landings and indecision caused fatal delays allowing the Turks to reinforce and only a few of the objectives were taken with difficulty.

Hill 10, a low isolated mound to the north of the salt lake, was taken by the 9th Lancashire Fusiliers and the 11th Manchesters on the early morning of 7 August 1915. The cemetery was made after the Armistice by the concentration of graves from isolated sites and from the 88th Dressing Station, 89th Dressing Station, Kangaroo Beach, ‘B’ Beach, 26th Casualty Clearing Station and Park Lane.

There are now 699 servicemen of the First World War buried or commemorated in this cemetery. 150 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate a number of casualties known or believed to be buried among them.

Hill 60 Cemetery

Hill 60 Cemetery lies well to the north of the old Anzac position. Australians first came into this area during the ‘August Offensive’, 6-10 August 1915, when an attempt was made to break out of Anzac by capturing the heights of the range which can be seen to the south-east of the cemetery – Hill 971 and Chunuk Bair.

Hill 60 Cemetery


Originally in Turkish hands, Hill 60 was attacked successively by the Canterbury and Otago Mounted Rifles and the 18th Battalion AIF on 21-22 August 1915 and was partly captured. The cemetery was commenced, amongst the trenches of Hill 60, after these actions. It was enlarged after the war by bringing in bodies from other smaller battlefield burial sites. There are now 788 burials in this cemetery, 712 of them unidentified. Fourteen Australians have known graves here with a further sixteen commemorated by Special Memorials. Twenty of the Australians either buried or commemorated here were serving with the 18th Battalion or the 9th Australian Light Horse Regiment, both units heavily involved in the fighting in the area in late August-early September 1915.

Also in Hill 60 Cemetery is the New Zealand Memorial, one of four memorials on the Gallipoli Peninsula commemorating New Zealanders who have no known graves.

Location of Hill 60 Cemetery


The Anzac and Suvla cemeteries are first signposted from the left hand junction of the Eceabat – Bigali road. From this junction you should travel into the main Anzac area.

On leaving the Anzac area and heading towards Suvla, you will find the cemetery at 15.6 kms. at the end of a right hand rough track 600 metres long, which is difficult to negotiate in the wet.

Hill 60 is on the 60 metre contour line, at the end of a range, which runs South-Eastward towards Hill 100 between Kaiajik Dere and Asma Dere.

Hill 60 Cemetery is reached along a 800 metre track, which requires a 4-wheel drive vehicle during wet weather.

Visiting Hill 60 Cemetery


The Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time.

Historiy of Hill 60 Cemetery


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac. On 6 August, further landings were made at Suvla, just north of Anzac, and the climax of the campaign came in early August when simultaneous assaults were launched on all three fronts.

At the beginning of August 1915, Hill 60, which commanded the shore ward communications between the forces at Anzac and Suvla, was in Turkish hands. On 22 August, it was attacked from Anzac by the Canterbury and Otago Mounted Rifles, followed later by the 18th Australian Infantry Battalion and supported on the flanks by other troops. It was partly captured and on 27-29 August, and the captured ground was extended by the 13th, 14th, 15th, 17th and 18th Australian Infantry Battalions, the New Zealand Mounted Rifles, the 5th Connaught Rangers, and the 9th and 10th Australian Light Horse. The position was held until the evacuation in December.

HILL 60 CEMETERY lies among the trenches of the actions of Hill 60. It was made after those engagements, and enlarged after the Armistice by the concentration of graves from Norfolk Trench Cemetery and from the battlefield.

There are now 788 Commonwealth servicemen of the First World War buried or commemorated in this cemetery. 712 of the burials are unidentified, but special memorials commemorate 34 casualties known or believed to be buried among them.

Within the cemetery stands the HILL 60 (NEW ZEALAND) MEMORIAL, one of four memorials erected to commemorate New Zealand soldiers who died on the Gallipoli Peninsula and and whose graves are not known. This memorial relates to the actions at Hill 60. It bears more than 180 names.

Lala Baba Cemetery

Lala Baba Cemetery; ww1 Anzac Cemetery at the Gallipoli Battlefields in Turkey. Located at between Suvla Bay and the Salt Lake.

Lala Baba Cemetery


Lala Baba Cemetery;  (216 burials) is named after a low hill on the isthmus between Suvla Bay and the Salt Lake, and was taken on 6 August. The cemetery is reached along a 4km track which is soft and sandy in parts and a 4-wheel drive vehicle is required.

Location of Lala Baba Cemetery


The Anzac and Suvla cemeteries are first signposted from the left hand junction of the Eceabat – Bigali road. From this junction you should travel into the main Anzac area. At 13kms. you will encounter a rough track on the left which is 4.2km. long and difficult to negotiate when wet. The cemetery will be found at the end of this track. Visitors are kindly requested to close the gate leading to the cemetery.

Lala Baba is a hill 48 metres high, between the southern side of Suvla Bay and the Salt Lake, which was stormed by the 9th West Yorks and the 6th Yorkshire Regiment on the early morning of 7 August and 1km south-west of it is the lower hill known as Little Lala Baba.

The cemetery is on Little Lala Baba, facing west towards the sea. It was formed after the Armistice by the concentration of 9 small cemeteries and a few isolated graves. It covers an area of 1,136 square metres and contains the graves of 200 soldiers from the United Kingdom. The unammed graves are 53 in number and special memorials are erected to 16 soldiers known or believed to be buried among them.

Visiting Lala Baba


The Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time. Visitors are kindly requested to close the gate leading to the cemetery.

History of Lala Baba Cemetery


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac. On 6 August, further troops were put ashore at Suvla, just north of Anzac, and the climax of the campaign came in early August when simultaneous assaults were launched on all three fronts.

The aim of the Suvla force had been to quickly secure the sparsely held high ground surrounding the bay and salt lake, but confused landings and indecision caused fatal delays allowing the Turks to reinforce, and only a few of the objectives were taken with difficulty.

Lala Baba, a low hill between the southern side of Suvla Bay and the salt lake, was stormed by the 9th West Yorks and the 6th Yorkshire Regiment on the early morning of 7 August 1915. The cemetery was formed after the Armistice by the concentration of nine smaller cemeteries and a few isolated graves from the surrounding area.

There are now 216 servicemen of the First World War buried or commemorated in this cemetery. 53 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate 16 casualties known or believed to be buried among them.

The Farm Cemetery

The Farm Cemetery; (652 burials) takes its name from a shepherd’s stone hut which stood on the western slope of Chunuk Bair. It is reached along a steep footpath which runs from the fire break that starts south of Chunuk Bair Cemetery.

The Farm Cemetery


Location of the Farm Cemetery


Between Baby 700 and Chunuk Bair there is a steep right hand path 540 metres long, which leads to this cemetery. It is 13.7 km’s from the Eceabat – Bigali junction in the Anzac area.

Visiting the Farm Cemetery


The Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time.

History of the Farm Cemetery


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac. On 6 August, further landings were made at Suvla, just north of Anzac, and the climax of the campaign came in early August when simultaneous assaults were launched on all three fronts.

The Farm was a stone shepherd’s hut on the western slopes of Chunuk Bair, known to the Turks as ‘Aghyl’ (sheepfold), which was passed by the troops who held Chunuk Bair on 6-10 August. On 8 August, it was occupied by the 10th Gurkhas, part of the 9th Royal Warwicks, and the Maoris. The 6th East Lancashire Regiment, the 10th Hants and the 6th Royal Irish Rifles reached it next day. The 5th Connaught Rangers came up on 10 August, but the same morning, in consequence of the Turkish attack which cleared Chunuk Bair, the line was withdrawn.

The cemetery was made after the Armistice by gathering in graves scattered around the Farm and from the slopes of Chunuk Bair and Hill Q.

There are now 652 Commonwealth servicemen of the First World War buried or commemorated in this cemetery. Special memorials commemorate seven soldiers believed to be buried among them. 645 burials are unidentified.

The Farm Cemetery at Gallipoli Battlefields for more contact with us...

Twelve Tree Copse Cemetery

Twelve Tree Copse Cemetery and N.Z. Memorial; at the Gallipoli Battlefields (3359 burials) and MEMORIAL (179 names) recall a stand of pines named by men of the 86th and 87th Brigades. The copse was used as a forward observation post for the artillery but was later destroyed by shellfire. The memorial within the cemetery commemorates New Zealand soldiers who died in the second battle of Krithia and during the fighting on the Helles Front in July and whose graves are unknown.

CEMETERY


Location of Twelve Tree Copse 


Take the road opposite the Kabatepe Museum to Helles/Alcitepe. After 14.2 km’s, take a right turn at the ‘T’ junction to Twelve Tree Copse and other Helles cemeteries. After 14.3 km’s take the left fork and the cemetery will be found on the right after 15.4 km’s. Twelve Tree Copse Cemetery is in the Helles area, about 1 km south-west of the village of Krithia.

History of Twelve Tree Copse 


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac.

On 28 April, following the landings at Helles, the first attack was mounted towards Achi Baba, the ridge which dominates the southern part of the peninsula. Fatigue, however, brought the assault to a halt some kilometres short of the objective, near the village of Krithia. Turkish counter attacks followed but were repulsed and during the period 6-8 May, the 29th and French Divisions, reinforced by the 2nd Australian and New Zealand Infantry Brigades, carried out a renewed attack on Krithia, making some gains but suffering heavy casualties.

Between 1 May and the beginning of June, the 29th Indian Infantry Brigade and 42nd (East Lancashire) Division landed on the peninsula. With these reinforcements, the Allied force at Helles pushed forward once more on 4 June, but again to little effect. A further attack between 28 June and 5 July at Gully Ravine inflicted heavy casualties on the Turks, but despite local gains – at one point the line was pushed forward more than a kilometre – there was no breakthrough. By 13 July the advance at Helles was effectively over and the position remained unchanged until the evacuation in January 1916.

TWELVE TREE COPSE CEMETERY was made after the Armistice when graves were brought in from isolated sites and small burial grounds on the battlefields of April-August and December 1915. The most significant of these burial grounds were Geoghegan’s Bluff Cemetery, which contained 925 graves associated with fighting at Gully Ravine in June-July 1915; Fir Tree Wood Cemetery, where the 29th Division and New Zealand Infantry Brigade fought in May 1915 and Clunes Vennel Cemetery, on the south side of Krithia, which contained 522 graves.

NZ MEMORIAL


Location of NZ MEMORIAL


Twelve Tree Copse (New Zealand) Memorial is in Twelve Tree Copse Cemetery, which is in the Helles area about 1 kilometre south-west of the village of Krithia. Take the road opposite the Kabatepe Museum to Helles/Alcitepe. After 14.2 km’s, take a right turn at the ‘T’ junction to Twelve Tree Copse and other Helles cemeteries. After 14.3 km’s take the left fork and the cemetery will be found on the right after 15.4 km’s.

Visiting NZ MEMORIAL


The Memorial is situated within the Twelve Tree Copse Cemetery. The Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time.

History of NZ MEMORIAL


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac.

On 28 April, following the landings at Helles, the first attack was mounted towards Achi Baba, the ridge which dominates the southern part of the peninsula. Fatigue, however, brought the assault to a halt some kilometres short of the objective, near the village of Krithia. Turkish counter attacks followed but were repulsed and during the period 6-8 May, the 29th and French Divisions, reinforced by the 2nd Australian and New Zealand Infantry Brigades, carried out a renewed attack on Krithia, making some gains but suffering heavy casualties.

Between 1 May and the beginning of June, the 29th Indian Infantry Brigade and 42nd (East Lancashire) Division landed on the peninsula. With these reinforcements, the Allied force at Helles pushed forward once more on 4 June, but again to little effect. A further attack between 28 June and 5 July at Gully Ravine inflicted heavy casualties on the Turks, but despite local gains – at one point the line was pushed forward more than a kilometre – there was no breakthrough. By 13 July the advance at Helles was effectively over and the position remained unchanged until the evacuation in January 1916.

TWELVE TREE COPSE (NEW ZEALAND) MEMORIAL is one of four memorials erected to commemorate New Zealand soldiers who fell on the Gallipoli peninsula and whose graves are not known. The memorial relates to engagements outside the limits of Anzac in which New Zealand soldiers took part. It bears almost 180 names.

TWELVE TREE COPSE CEMETERY was made after the Armistice when graves were brought in from isolated sites and small burial grounds on the battlefields of April – August and December 1915. The most significant of these burial grounds were Geoghan’s Bluff Cemetery, containing 925 graves associated with fighting at Gully Ravine in June – July 1915: Fir Tree Wood Cemetery, where the 29th Division and New Zealand Infantry Brigade fought in May 1915 and Clunes Vennel Cemetery, containing 522 graves.

There are now 3,360 First World War servicemen buried or commemorated in the cemetery. 2,226 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate many casualties known or believed to be buried among them, including 142 officers and men of the 1st Essex who died on 6 August 1915, and 47 of the 1st/7th Scottish Rifles killed on 28 June.

There are now 3,360 First World War servicemen buried or commemorated in the cemetery. 2,226 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate many casualties known or believed to be buried among them, including 142 officers and men of the 1st Essex who died on 6 August 1915, and 47 of the 1st/7th Scottish Rifles killed on 28 June.

The cemetery also contains the TWELVE TREE COPSE (NEW ZEALAND) MEMORIAL, one of four memorials erected to commemorate New Zealand soldiers who fell on the Gallipoli peninsula and whose graves are not known. The memorial relates to engagements outside the limits of Anzac in which New Zealand soldiers took part. It bears almost 180 names.

Pink Farm Cemetery

Gallipoli Pink Farm Cemetery: WW1 Anzac Cemetery at Gallipoli Battlefields in Turkey. Pink Farm Cemetery located in Helles Sector at Gallipoli.

Pink Farm Cemetery


Pink Farm Cemetery; (602 burials) takes its name from the reddish soil on which it stands. The area was the site of a forward supply base throughout the campaign and included a small cemetery which was greatly enlarged after the armistice with burials from the surrounding area.

Location of Pink Farm Cemetery


Follow the road to Helles opposite the Kabatepe Museum. At 14.2km’s take a right turn at the ‘T’ junction and at 14.3km’s take the left fork. After a total of 18.2km’s, Pink Farm Cemetery will be found down a short track on your left. Pink Farm was a building about 1800 metres south-west of the Redoubt, on the road from Sedd el-Bahr to Geoghegan’s Bluff.

Visiting Pink Farm Cemetery


The Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time.

History of Pink Farm Cemetery


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac.

On 28 April, following the landings at Helles, the first attack was mounted towards Achi Baba, the ridge which dominates the southern part of the peninsula. Fatigue, however, brought the assault to a halt some kilometres short of the objective, near the village of Krithia. Turkish counter attacks followed but were repulsed and during the period 6-8 May, the 29th and French Divisions, reinforced by the 2nd Australian and New Zealand Infantry Brigades, carried out a renewed attack on Krithia, making some gains but suffering heavy casualties.

Between 1 May and the beginning of June, the 29th Indian Infantry Brigade and 42nd (East Lancashire) Division landed on the peninsula. With these reinforcements, the Allied force at Helles pushed forward once more on 4 June, but again to little effect. A further attack between 28 June and 5 July at Gully Ravine inflicted heavy casualties on the Turks, but despite local gains – at one point the line was pushed forward more than a kilometre – there was no breakthrough. By 13 July the advance at Helles was effectively over and the position remained unchanged until the evacuation in January 1916.

Pink Farm (properly Sotiri Farm) took its name from the red soil of the area. Three cemeteries eventually grew up round the farm, the first began after the First Battle of Krithia (28 April 1915). After the armistice, the three cemeteries (Pink Farm Nos. 1, 2 and 3) were combined on the site of No.3 (Plot III and part of Plot IV of the present cemetery are the original graves from No.3) and graves from the following smaller cemeteries were added.

29th Divisional, 52nd Divisional, Aerodrome, Oak Tree, Gully Beach and Gully Farm.

There are now 602 servicemen of the First World War buried or commemorated in this cemetery. 250 of the burials are unidentified, but special memorials commemorate 219 casualties known or believed to be buried among them. Gallipoli Pink Farm Cemetery.

Redoubt Cemetery

Gallipoli Redoubt Cemetery: WW1 Anzac Cemetery at Gallipoli Battlefields in Turkey. Redoubt Cemetery located in Helles Sector at Gallipoli.

Redoubt Cemetery


Redoubt Cemetery; (2027 burials) is 100m west of the road along a track flanked by pine trees. Its name derives from the Redoubt Line the front line of British and French trenches established in May. It was started immediately after the second battle of Krithia in the rear of the support line.

Location of Redoubt Cemetery


From Helles, continue on the road to Alciptepe and the cemetery will be found on your left. It is on the west side of the Krithia – Sedd el Bahr Road, approximately sout-west of “The Vineyards”. It faces south to the entrance to the Dardanelles and is surrounded by a belt of shrubs.

Visiting Redoubt Cemetery


The Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time.

History of Redoubt Cemetery


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac.

On 28 April, following the landings at Helles, the first attack was mounted towards Achi Baba, the ridge which dominates the southern part of the peninsula. Fatigue, however, brought the assault to a halt some kilometres short of the objective, near the village of Krithia. Turkish counter attacks followed but were repulsed and during the period 6-8 May, the 29th and French Divisions, reinforced by the 2nd Australian and New Zealand Infantry Brigades, carried out a renewed attack on Krithia, making some gains but suffering heavy casualties.

Between 1 May and the beginning of June, the 29th Indian Infantry Brigade and 42nd (East Lancashire) Division landed on the peninsula. With these reinforcements, the Allied force at Helles pushed forward once more on 4 June, but again to little effect. A further attack between 28 June and 5 July at Gully Ravine inflicted heavy casualties on the Turks, but despite local gains – at one point the line was pushed forward more than a kilometre – there was no breakthrough. By 13 July the advance at Helles was effectively over and the position remained unchanged until the evacuation in January 1916.

Redoubt Cemetery takes its name from the chain of forts made by the Turks across the southern end of the peninsula in the fighting for Krithia and the Redoubt Line on which the advance halted in May.

The cemetery was begun by the 2nd Australian Infantry Brigade in May 1915 and continued in use until the evacuation. It was greatly increased after the Armistice when the battlefields were cleared and graves were brought in from the following smaller cemeteries.

Krithia Nullah Nos. 1 and 2, West Krithia Nullah, Brown House, White House and Clapham Junction.

There are now 2,027 servicemen of the First World War buried or commemorated in this cemetery. 1,393 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate 349 casualties known or believed to be buried among them. Redoubt Cemetery at Gallipoli Battlefields.

Skew Bridge Cemetery

Gallipoli Skew Bridge Cemetery; WW1 Anzac Cemetery at Gallipoli Battlefields in Turkey.

Skew Bridge Cemetery


Skew Bridge Cemetery;(607 burials) is named after an angled or “skew” bridge that crossed Kanli Dere near where the cemetery now stands. Burials began after the second battle of Krithia in May, but the majority were brought in from other small battlefields.

Location of Skew Bridge Cemetery


Follow the road to Helles, opposite the Kabatepe Museum. After 14.2 km’s, take a right turn at the ‘T’ junction and after 14.3 km’s take the left fork. After a total of 25.2 km’s, the cemetery will be found on the right, down a short track. It is also 2 km’s north-east of Sedd-el-Bahr, between the road to Krithia and Kilid.

Visiting Skew Bridge Cemetery


The Skew Bridge Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time.

History of Skew Bridge Cemetery


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac.

On 28 April, following the landings at Helles, the first attack was mounted towards Achi Baba, the ridge which dominates the southern part of the peninsula. Fatigue, however, brought the assault to a halt some kilometres short of the objective, near the village of Krithia. Turkish counter attacks followed but were repulsed and during the period 6-8 May, the 29th and French Divisions, reinforced by the 2nd Australian and New Zealand Infantry Brigades, carried out a renewed attack on Krithia, making some gains but suffering heavy casualties.

Between 1 May and the beginning of June, the 29th Indian Infantry Brigade and 42nd (East Lancashire) Division landed on the peninsula. With these reinforcements, the Allied force at Helles pushed forward once more on 4 June, but again to little effect. A further attack between 28 June and 5 July at Gully Ravine inflicted heavy casualties on the Turks, but despite local gains – at one point the line was pushed forward more than a kilometre – there was no breakthrough. By 13 July the advance at Helles was effectively over and the position remained unchanged until the evacuation in January 1916.

Skew Bridge Cemetery was named from a wooden “skew” bridge carrying the Krithia road across the Dere, just behind the centre of the line occupied by the Allied forces on 27 April 1915. It was begun during the fighting of 6-8 May and used throughout the occupation. At the Armistice it contained only 53 graves (Plot I, less Row E), but was greatly enlarged when further burials were brought in from the battlefields and from the following smaller cemeteries:- Orchard Gully, R.N.D., Backhouse Post and Romanos Well.

There are now 607 First World War servicemen buried or commemorated in this cemetery. 351 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate a number of casualties known or believed to be buried among them.

The Skew Bridge Cemetery covers an area of 2,210 square metres.

V Beach Cemetery

V Beach WW1 Landing Cemetery at Gallipoli in Turkey.

V Beach Cemetery


V Beach Cemetery; (697 burials) is named after one of the five beaches around the toe of the Peninsula that were used in the Helles landings. The cemetery is right on the beach and was begun on the day after the invasion. Nearby is the solitary grave of Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Doughty–Wylie VC CB CMG.

Location Information


The Anzac and Suvla cemeteries are first signposted from the left hand junction of the Eceabat – Bigali road. From this junction you travel into the main Anzac area. Follow the road to Helles opposite the Kabatepe Museum. After 14.2 km’s, take a right turn at the ‘T’ junction and after 14.3 km’s take the left fork. After a total of 23.8 km’s you will find a short track to the cemetery which is on the beach. The Cemetery is at the bottom of the grassy slope that rises to the cliff edge between Sedd el Bahr village and Cape Helles.

Visiting Information


The Cemetery is permanently open and may be visited at any time.

Historical Information


The eight month campaign in Gallipoli was fought by Commonwealth and French forces in an attempt to force Turkey out of the war, to relieve the deadlock of the Western Front in France and Belgium, and to open a supply route to Russia through the Dardanelles and the Black Sea.

The Allies landed on the peninsula on 25-26 April 1915; the 29th Division at Cape Helles in the south and the Australian and New Zealand Corps north of Gaba Tepe on the west coast, an area soon known as Anzac.

At Helles, the 29th Division landed troops at ‘S’, ‘V’, ‘W’, ‘X’ and ‘Y’ Beaches, five small coves at or near the southern end of the peninsula. The landing at ‘V’ Beach was to be made by boats containing three companies of the 1st Royal Dublin Fusiliers, followed by the collier ‘River Clyde’ with the rest of the Dublins, the 1st Royal Munster Fusiliers, half the 2nd Hampshire Regiment and other troops. The place was very strongly fortified and heavy casualties were sustained during the landing.

On the morning of 26 April, Lieutenant Colonel Charles Doughty-Wylie and Captain Garth Walford led the survivors on the beach to the capture of Sedd el Bahr village and the old castle above it. Both won the Victoria Cross but were killed during the fight (Captain Walford is buried at V Beach, Colonel Doughty-Wylie is buried in an isolated grave on the spot where he was killed). That evening, the main body of the French Corps began to land at ‘V’ Beach and after the following day, the front line had advanced about three kilometres beyond it.

The cemetery was used during April and May 1915 and 13 graves were brought in after the Armistice for burial in Row O.

There are now 696 servicemen of the First World War buried or commemorated in this cemetery. 480 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate 196 officers and men, nearly all belonging to the units which landed on 25 April, known or believed to be buried among them.

V Beach WW1 Landing Cemetery at Gallipoli in Turkey.

Doughty-Wylie’s Grave

Doughty-Wylie’s Grave is situated near the V Beach Cemetery.

Doughty-Wylie


Rank: Lieutenant Colonel

Date of Death: 26/04/1915

Age: 46

Regiment/Service: Royal Welsh Fusiliers  attd. as G.S.O.2 to H.Q. Mediterranean Expeditionary Force.

Awards: V C, C B, C M G, Twice Mentioned in Despatches

Grave Reference Cemetery: SEDDEL-BAHR MILITARY GRAVE

Additional Information:


Son of H. M. Doughty, of Theberton Hall, Suffolk, and Edith, his wife (nee Cameron); husband of Lilian O. Doughty-Wylie. Second Class of the Imperial Ottoman Order of the Medjidieh.

Citation


An extract from “The London Gazette”, No 29202, dated 23rd June 1915, records the following: – “On 26th April 1915 subsequent to a landing having been effected on the beach at a point on the Gallipoli Peninsula, during which both Brigadier- General and Brigade Major had been killed, Lieutenant- Colonel Doughty-Wylie and Captain Walford organised and led an attack through and on both sides of the village of Sedd el Bahr on the Old Castle at the top of the hill inland. The enemy`s position was very strongly held and entrenched, and defended with concealed machine-guns and pom-poms. It was mainly due to the initiative, skill and great gallantry of these two officers that the attack was a complete success. Both were killed in the moment of victory.”